Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission

September 21, 2023 Meeting Minutes

The Regular meeting of the Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission was held Thursday September 21, 2023 at the Van Horne Community Center. Present was Brian McNulty, Blairstown, Eric Werner, Landfill Manager, Tracy Seeman, County, Jon Kaestner, County, Doug Kearns, Garrison, Jared Vogeler, Van Horne, Loras Schulte, Norway, Amy Boddicker, County, Doug Luzbatek, HLW, Terry Hertle, County, Alicia Presto, ECICOG and Steve Beck, Belle Plaine.

The meeting was called to order by Loras Schulte at 6:30 PM.

Motion made by Kaestner seconded by Hertle to approve the August 24, 2023 minutes. All Ayes.

The Treasurer's Report was given. Motion made by Kearns, seconded by Boddicker to accept the Treasurer's Report. All Ayes.

Doug from HLW gave a report about the progress of the new cell construction.

The Landfill Manager's Report included equipment maintenance, HHM update and hauling dirt in. Motion made by Kaestner, seconded by Boddicker to accept the Landfill Manager's Report. All Ayes.

The ECICOG report included school programs, CEU's for training update and the compost bin rebate program. Motion made by Boddicker, seconded by Vogeler to approve the ECICOG report. All Ayes.

Motion made by Hertle, seconded by Kearns to approve Resolution 2023-09-01: Approval of Expenditures. All Ayes.

Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Boddicker to approve Resolution 2023-09-02: Approval of Transfer of Funds between Savings/Checking. All Ayes.

Motion made by Vogeler, seconded by Boddicker to approve Resolution 2023-09-03: Approval of Transfer of Funds to Capital Accounts. All Ayes.

Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Beck to approve the purchase of a new John Deere track loader from Martin. All Ayes.

Discussion was held about GPS system for the landfill equipment. More information will be brought to the next meeting.

Motion made by Vogeler, seconded by Seeman to approve the Investment Policy. All Ayes.

The Special Waste Authorization form was discussed. More information will be brought the next meeting.

Motion to adjourn made by Hertle, seconded by Boddicker. All Ayes. Meeting adjourned at 7:17 PM.

Chairperson